Websites

 

 

Maestro David Jones’s website contains dozens of excellent articles on the Swedish-Italian School of vocal technique, including “Vocalizing Through Menopause”, “The Dangers of Undersinging Dramatic Voices”, and “Training Contralto Voices”.

 

The National Center for Voice and Speech, led by the prominent voice scientist Ingo Titze, provides brief but excellent scientific summaries of a variety of aspects of the human voice, its anatomy and physiology.

 

The website of Lynn Martin and Robin De Haas, practitioners of Breathing Coordination, as developed by Carl Stough. The goals of this work include developing the simultaneous and optimal function of all the various muscles involved in respiration, through amplifying and harmonizing the movement of the diaphragm to restore respiratory function in its entirety. This work influences not only the functional state of the respiratory system, but also that of the entire person, by encouraging the possibility of increasing oxygen delivery to the body.

 

The website of laryngologist Dr. James P. Thomas contains a vast array of “medically oriented information about your vocal cords, the voice and hoarseness”. In particular, his collection of video lectures provides some fascinating, clearly narrated fiberoptic views of the functioning of the vocal folds.

 

The website of London voice teacher Neil Howlett, former leading baritone at the English, Scottish, and National Operas, contains a library of uniformly excellent articles on many topics of interest such as the female chest voice, “Baroque Authenticity” in singing, and the trill.

 

The International Music Score Library Project is an online music library that shares the world’s public domain music, absolutely free. You can download PDFs of entire opera and oratorio scores (both full scores and piano/vocal), lieder, historical vocal pedagogy books, and much more.

 

The Aria Database is a collection of information about opera and operatic arias. Besides providing basic information about each aria (e.g., vocal fach, range), the database includes translations for many arias and aria texts, operatic sound files, and information on available scores.

 

IPA Source is the web’s largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Fee-based service.

 

YAP Tracker is a resource for young artists and emerging professionals to find and track opera auditions, worldwide. Fee-based service.

 

Operabase is an online database of opera performances, opera houses and companies, performers themselves as well as their agents. Services are available to opera professionals for a fee, although the site is searchable by any web user at no charge.

 

Northern California Opera Companies

Capitol Opera Sacramento Morage, CA www.capopera.com
Cinnabar Theater Petaluma, CA cinnabartheater.org
Ensemble Parallele San Francisco, CA ensembleparallele.com
Festival Opera Walnut Creek, CA festivalopera.org
Goat Hall Productions Vacaville, CA goathall.org
Golden Gate Opera Sausalito, CA goldengateopera.org
Lamplighters San Francisco, CA lamplighters.org
Livermore Valley Opera Livermore, CA livermorevalleyopera.com
Martinez Opera Martinez, CA mtzo.com
North Bay Opera Fairfield, CA northbayopera.org
Oakland Lyric Opera Oakland, CA oaklandlyricopera.org
Opera on Tap San Francisco, CA operaontap.org/san-francisco
Opera San Jose San Jose, CA operasj.org
Pocket Opera San Francisco, CA pocketopera.org
San Francisco Lyric Opera San Francisco, CA sflyricopera.org
San Francisco Opera San Francisco, CA sfopera.com
San Francisco Opera Guild San Francisco, CA sde.org
Solo Opera San Francisco, CA sde.org
Verismo Opera Fairfield, CA verismoopera.org
Virago Opera Alameda, CA viragotheatre.org

Bay Area Professional Choruses

American Bach Soloists San Francisco, CA americanbach.org
Philharmonia Baroque San Francisco, CA philharmonia.org
San Francisco Symphony Chorus San Francisco, CA sfsymphony.org
Sanford Dole Ensemble San Francisco, CA sde.org